ZERO TO HERO: 30 DAYS TO A BETTER BLOG by The Daily Post | Day 1: Introduce Yourself

2

February 19, 2014 by Roe

30 day challenges usually don’t sway me, but I think I’ll do this one. It seems fun – and I like writing.

The folks over at The Daily Post have created a 30 day challenge to better your blog and perfect your WordPress technique, if you will. It definitely wouldn’t hurt to check it out. Let’s do it together!

Today’s challenge is, Introduce Yourself. When I started this blog in June, I created an About page briefly highlighting why I created the blog in the first place. But let’s go more in depth!

Who I Am: Rosanna O’Brien a.k.a. “Roe”. Self-nicknamed because of the common mispronunciation of my first name (It is Ro-SAH-nah, not Ro-ZANN-na) and the chosen spelling is not after my fondness for caviar or as a reminder of the famous abortion case, but because after sporting “Ro” for awhile I decided that aesthetically, it looked naked and added the E for good measure. Three letters seem more complete to me than two. Go figure.

Why I’m Here: Tumblr got old. Or rather, Tumblr became more about posting memes, pictures, .gifs, and the occasional video. I felt any time I published anything with words it went unnoticed. (Neil Postman would probably have something insightful to say about this were he still alive. The movement of a text-based culture to a pictures/image based culture. Seems as though mankind is reverting in a way, no? i.e. Paleolithic cave dwellers, ancient Egyptians, Native Americans, etc.) Not that I’m getting loads of attention here or anything, but the WordPress community seems to be more encouraging of words and the site is better formatted for active blogging and not the picture spam I was assaulted with via Tumblr (IMO).

What I’m About: Many things. I’m a complex woman. To start, I am a songwriter. You can check out my ongoing Twenty-Four Seven project or my soon to be defunct Song Shop project for starters. I also have a Soundcloud, Bandcamp, and YouTube if you care to peep those as well. I don’t like being overbearing in promoting my projects, but I do like it when people are aware of them – even better if they genuinely enjoy them. 🙂 I’m always open to feedback.

I’m very much about music. After all, I did get a degree in it. But I’m also very much into reading. I try to switch it up between fiction and non-fiction every time I finish a book. It’s astonishing how many people are aliterate in the midst of our technological avalanche. It’s a skill I try not to take for granted. I love discussing myth, dream, and the psychological implications of our society. I could go on and on. But why give it all away here? You have to get to know me to see what I’m all about 🙂

Why You Should Read My Blog: If you are an unemployed, floundering twenty-something like me this would probably be a great place to bond and help each other through out respective struggles, talk, and discuss things! Aside from sharing my many musings, I squeeze out the occasional poem or write-up about an artist I’m into. I’ve even written a few little articles about something funny that happened to me or something that piqued my interest – That sort of thing. You should most definitely read my blog if you’re into any of those things or just generally enjoy it and want to read it. No obligations, no pressure, no offense taken if you don’t.

Why I’m Blogging: Sometimes I have so much to say and don’t know what to do with it. Certain emotions rise up with me and I just need to get things out, whether negative or positive. It’s a way for me to organize my thoughts and keep them in a place I can look back on later. Spoken words can be so fleeting and are gone as soon as you speak. Written word lasts longer. I also think it’s healthy to write on a regular basis. I really wish I minored in Journalism in college because now I realize how much the written word binds everyone together and informs us, whether we realize it or not. Once you know how to write well, so many doors open. This is a way for me to stay on my toes knowing I’ll get better with every post I write. Practice makes better.

Topics: Aside from the ones I mentioned above and have already done, I’ve been thinking about doing more music writing. Perhaps even profiling some of the lesser known artists I know via Facebook and giving them a voice and a platform to be heard. It’s just a thought – I haven’ t pursued anything yet.  If you have any ideas, please reach out to me!

Who I Would Love To Connect With Via My Blog: Anyone who is interested in anything I have to say. I try not to limit myself to write about just one thing so there is definitely variety, but if you’re on my wavelength I’d love to hear your feedback! And again, if you’re a girl or guy in the postgrad rut with millions of existential questions, I’m in the struggle with you. Thus is life sometimes. I’m still trying to make sense of it all.

What I Hope To Have Accomplished If I Blog Successfully Throughout 2014: I guess the most I can ask for is to come to a dawning realization about the things I struggle with. Every time I blog or write, I feel like I’m working out the problem – I’m stretching the muscle, if you will. I hope at some point that muscle will become stronger and stronger so I can work out the dissonance I feel towards the world sometimes. And if it’s not too bold to say, I wouldn’t mind writing for a larger site or blog and contributing my efforts there whether it be for music or something else. I think that’d be a lot of fun to do. I hope blogging independently will refine my skill and build my confidence.

2 thoughts on “ZERO TO HERO: 30 DAYS TO A BETTER BLOG by The Daily Post | Day 1: Introduce Yourself

  1. Hi Roe,

    I stumbled to your blog after searching for other people who used the zerotohero tag. Since it started a while ago, and I only just started blogging, it was nice to see someone else who was also just starting the challenge.

    Your post is so informative and interesting to read. I’m also in my 20s so I can sort of connect with you on the whole floundering through life thing. Trust me, even when you’ve started your career the floundering doesn’t go away.

    Well, keep it up! Happy blogging!

    Like

    • Roe says:

      Hey, thanks! Nice to see you’re just starting it too. I appreciate the kind words. I guess the whole floundering thing is just a part of life then, huh? Haha! It’s something new I’ll have to get used to. Thanks again 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

#crucialevenings

Archives

