Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own

8

March 28, 2014 by Roe

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on today’s Daily Prompt.”

First off, can I just say how excited I am that I’m over the halfway mark?! 2 more weeks and I’m done with this 30 Day Challenge!

The Daily Prompt hyperlinked in the original Zero To Hero 30 Day Challenge post was originally from January 17th, so I’ve decided to sub that with today’s (March 28) Daily Prompt:

We all feel down from time to time. How do you combat the blues? What’s one tip you can share with others that always helps to lift your spirits?

**********

Well to be honest, the blues are my specialty. I think I feel a different shade of them every day. Last night I was feeling a bluish-black blues that only felt more weighted with the glasses of wine I drank with dinner. It’s funny because it’s raining now and you’d think I feel down about it, but I actually like when it rains and I’m home. It’s a cozy feeling.

But when I do feel down and the coziness has evaporated these things have helped me get out of my slump:

  1. Listening to music – Whether it’s a Saves The Day record or Into It. Over It.’s 52 Weeks on cassette, music calms my mind and just allows me to kind of wallow in my emotions a little bit. Sometimes a fever needs to be sweated out, and sometimes you have to let the emotions you’re feeling run their course before you can pick yourself back up again. About a week ago I was feeling down so I went in my room, put on Under The Boards, turned the lights off, opened my shades to watch the moon, and just laid there listening. And yeah, sometimes I cry a little too. I can’t be ashamed about that. I’m only human.
  2. Listening to Joseph Campbell lectures – A friend of mine got me into this. He tends to listen to them in his sleep, but I can’t do that. My headphones come off, I end up sleeping on them or they end up around my neck, and then I get upset that I don’t remember which part of the lecture I dozed off at. – It’s not quite comfortable for me. But I do listen to them during the day – When I’m cooking, doing laundry, drying my hair, etc. Joseph Campbell’s words have a knack of lifting my spirits and putting me on the right path again. He never fails.
  3. Baking – My mom put away our Kitchen Aid mixer since the holiday baking season is pretty much over, but when it was still in full swing I started really taking off making dairy-free and gluten-free goodies. I love baking and cooking because it ignites that creative fire that’s in me. I get a lot of pleasure out of making something everyone likes, that everyone can share and enjoy. It’s very therapeutic and I feel accomplished and productive afterwards.
  4. Watching TV – Certain shows that automatically put me in a good mood are FrasierThe Golden Girls, Moyers & Company, anything on The Food Network, and practically any Star Trek episode. These shows just lift my spirits, make me laugh, and/or keep me engaged. I guess in the end, it’s a nice distraction and keeps my mind off any problem I may be going through at the time.
  5. Writing songs – Even just writing out the lyrics help. It takes the thoughts floating around my head and puts them on paper so I can stare back at them, decipher them, make sense of it all. I’ve been doing this since I before I was even a teenager, ever since that Good Charlotte S/T came out. That album really pulled me into songwriting. There’s nothing more cathartic than honest and open songwriting, whether you end up sharing the song with anyone or not.
  6. Playing guitar – Playing my own songs help, but sometimes it’s just good to belt out an Oasis cover and sing “Don’t Go Away” at the top of your lungs. Or even turning to open D and finding weird chords. I like that too.
  7. Venting it out on WordPress – When worse comes to worst and none of the above seems to be working for me, I end up writing something emo on here. Sometimes it feels good to just get the feelings out somewhere where you know maybe someone will read it and come across it, maybe even relate to it a little bit. Whether someone likes it or comments on it is irrelevant. Similar to how writing a song for me feels, this is similar except I know I will have a potential immediate audience. Even if it’s one person, that’s okay for me.
  8. Getting a good night’s sleep – Sometimes that all it takes. Tuck in early and get some restful shut-eye. Sleep is how your body and mind heal. There’s nothing like waking up and feeling completely refreshed.

If these work for you too, that’s awesome. I’m glad we share some commonalities. But at the end of the day, my suggestion to overcoming the blues is to find something that makes you happy and do it. Life is all about balance – You can’t have up without down and down without up. This goes for both gravity and emotions. The blues will come, the blues will go – like the wind. No one likes feeling down and out. Such is the emotional nature of human beings. The blues are nothing to be afraid of, they’re just a natural part of life. And I believe we can get through them together. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own

  1. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  2. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  3. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  4. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  5. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  6. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  7. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

  8. […] Day 16: Make A Writing Prompt Your Own | Roe Knows Best […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

And then some days you wear your @thinkgeek Star Trek dress. 🖖🏼💕

Archives

