Day 28: Build On Your Popular Content

Leave a comment

May 7, 2014 by Roe

Today’s assignment: Find the post that has received the most views, likes, or comments, and write a related follow-up post.”

On March 29th, I wrote a post as a follow-up to a writing prompt I did about battling the blues. After reading what many other writers had to say about it, I chose one post that resonated most with me and expanded on it. Though I’m not sure if it was my most popular post, I did receive some genuine comments after posting and I got a few “likes” out of it. “Likes” are great but any time I can get a authentic, heartfelt comment out of somebody, that counts as big points in my book.

So today, here is a follow-up to my follow-up. 😉


Similar to how C.G. Jung discovered his own personal myth by recalling what he most enjoyed doing as a child, I myself carry out the same thought process. It’s not so much as to discover the myth I am living by, (I’m still not sure of that yet) but sometimes I do it just to make sure I’m on the right track. It’s source of validation for me, you know? And so far with what I remember, everything is as it should be. I can say for certain that I am on the right path. Though I haven’t reached my destination yet, there have been many signs along the way that have verified my journey and that it is indeed, headed in the right direction.

Here’s a handful of things I tend to think about:

From my youngest age, I always remember being really into music, reading the liner notes of CDs, getting an incredible joy of learning a song on piano, making up melodies, singing in choir, being enraptured by musicals like AnnieMary Poppins, and The Sound of Music. (I’m still enraptured by these musicals, by the way). I mean, come on! I taught myself guitar at age 14 and no one had to even persuade me to practice. (It’s something my dad still talks about). I cried to my parents junior year telling them how important it was for me to take a Music Theory course for my last year of high school, and as many of you know I now have a BA in Music with concentrations in Music Industry and Music Production.

It may be difficult for others to understand the significance of all these little things I recall. But to me they’re more than significant because ultimately, they amount to who and what I am today. All those memories, all those things I did and songs I sang, tears cried, callouses formed, blisters burst – they’re a part of me. The road I chose was never guaranteed to be an easy ride, but honestly the best roads never are nor should they be. All great myths and stories have the same theme of taking the less traveled path. That is where true adventure lies. That is where we discover the true hero in all of us. Because that’s what we are – We are all the protagonist in our own storylines. Fate is the writer (Or Destiny, God, Jesus, Allah, Universe, Unknown Higher Power, etc – whichever you prefer).

Lately, I’ve been getting down about not being able to find a job. It wasn’t even something I was remotely concerned with when I chose my major. I just wanted to learn all I could about what I loved. But now as about a year’s passed since I’ve started Roe Knows Best, I’ve matured a little and realized facing facts is OKAY. I strive to be an independent and personally responsible individual and getting a job is going to be something I have to do in order to attain that. So I’m looking, searching, seeking guidance. And I’ve had some wonderful helpers along the way thus far.

It’s easy to get upset because the unknown can be so daunting; I accept that. But now that we’re in May, I’ve been noticing a common theme in my 2014 horoscope which has been this: Realize the power you have to turn a situation around. Realize the power you have to change your mindset; If you’re feeling negative, think positive. If you’re feeling worthless, remind yourself how much you are worth. If you’re feeling like a nobody, think back to all the things you’ve accomplished and what you mean to others!

And it’s hard. It’s really hard. And this conscious flipping of emotions works better some days than others. But what’s most important is, I have to remind myself that it can’t be done overnight. It takes practice. Even if you’re able to fool yourself for five minutes that things aren’t that bad before you turn back around to seek shelter in your negative wallow, that’s okay. It’s like lifting weights. If you’ve never lifted before, you can’t possibly expect to lift 50 lbs with ease. You have to work up to it: Start with freeweights, than 5 lbs, 10 lbs. Then one day, it won’t be so hard to lift the 50.

And when it comes down to it, you’ll be all the more stronger because of it. Even if it takes a little time.

Today I feel stronger than I did a year ago. And because of that, I think I’ll lift my head a little higher.

The sky is so blue today, the breeze so inviting. Why not take part?

 

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

#crucialevenings

Archives

