Forest Dream #2

Leave a comment

June 30, 2014 by Roe

I was at a relative’s house. The dream house was pretty accurate to the house in reality: A large house, with an extensive backyard but – There was a mountain range in the distance; As one looked out beyond the yard the mountains were prominent as ever. It looked beautiful as the sun was setting. The yard wasn’t that large as I noticed the other surrounding neighbor’s yards were nearby, but there weren’t many fences dividing the yards up; It was pretty open and connected.

This relative was saying mean and disparaging things to me. Again, not far from reality; This relative has always been slightly condescending and ambiguous towards me, but would never stoop so low to say some of things that he was saying to me in this dream; In short, repetitively saying to my face how worthless and useless I am. I kept telling him to stop but he wouldn’t, continuously pestering and pushing me to brink of explosive anger.

Another relative from the same house, stole my phone and I caught him looking through it. He was at the bottom of some stairs (In a basement, I suppose. The interior of the house was not based in reality) and I was peering from the top yelling at him for doing so. I didn’t appreciate him violating my privacy. He ran away and I went down to retrieve my phone. After this occurred, something else was said to me of condescending nature (by who I don’t specifically remember) and I flipped; I yelled, cursing everyone out in the house and booked it – out of the yard and towards the mountain range.

I ran very fast. Faster than I ever could in reality and without tiring. I went the length of the entire backyard from the back of the house onward, until I came upon a metal gate that was attached to a larger chain metal fence. I opened the latch and continued to run and run and run; Through the other neighboring yards on and on. I ran so fast and so far, thoughts blacked out by my anger, blinded by my rage (I had no idea where I was going. I just needed to run), until after a time I decided it might be appropriate to stop. OHT Pic 4387 Open forestI had cleared the “suburban backwoods” and now found myself alone and isolated in a forest.

But I wasn’t afraid. I was suddenly calmed in the realization of my aloneness. It was peaceful, quiet. I don’t even remember hearing birds chirping or crickets singing. The forest wasn’t very dense but was actually very open. I noticed a sign across from me that said something along the lines of: Visitors must leave the forest before dusk. I remember the word DUSK specifically, in bold and all capitals.

The shape was something like this, though the material was not finished wood. Imagine a light tan, beige-ish color instead.

The shape was something like this, but the steps were bigger and more triangulated. And the material was not finished wood. Imagine a light tan, beige-ish color instead. I don’t remember a railing either.

In my contentment, I continued to look about the forest and noticed (across from the sign) I was standing next to a spiraling staircase to a treehouse. But there wasn’t just one staircase – there were two. The inner one was made of wood and the steps were large and somewhat triangular. The outer one was made of highly ornamented wrought, black iron. I remember looking up the staircase for awhile, pondering it. My memories then came flooding back as to what had transpired: The argument, my flighty tantrum. I did not ascend the staircase, but began to head back to the house. By the time I got back it was dark.

Instead of announcing my return, some other relatives (including my brother) decided it was best to sneak me in and not tell parties previously involved that I had come back; So that they would be worried and look for me and waste their time and emotions doing so. I remember lying down, hiding with my brother behind a jungle gym while the relative who stole my phone headed out to look for me. After that, my dream starts to get hazy, unclear, and watercolored. I woke up soon afterwards.

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

#crucialevenings

Archives

