5 Days of Gratitude Challenge – Day 5

Leave a comment

September 9, 2014 by Roe

Last day! Hooray!

  1. My orthotics and the ability to walk. This morning I had an interview in the DUMBO part of Brooklyn (lots of walking and train taking) and honestly, every time I’m out and about I’m so thankful for having orthotics and legs to carry myself with. About a year ago, I had tremendous pain in my ankles. I could barely stand, nevermind walk. I was very worried about it. I went to physical therapy for months and though my condition improved, the problem didn’t go away. My chiropractor recommended I see a podiatrist and it was he who discovered (after an x-ray) that I have something called an Osteochondral Lesion in both my ankles. This basically means that I have two small fractures (about 8 mm long, each) in the cartilage of both my ankles. I immediately thought I would need surgery, but luckily we were able to fix the problem by my podiatrist making me custom orthotics that now properly support my foot and ankle. I’m not supposed to walk barefoot often and must always wear shoes with proper support (even sandals. No flip-flops!). But it’s a small price to pay to be pain free and walk with ease 🙂
  2. I’m also very grateful for all the friends I have these days. Though the numbers may have dwindled over the years, I now find myself more confident and at ease with the people I now stay in touch with because I know they truly care about me, and I care about them too – very much. There are 5 I can immediately call to mind who are wonderful people to have conversation with, have a coffee or a drink with, and laugh and be silly with but still trust enough to confide in each other. I treasure them immensely.
  3. Lastly, I am grateful and appreciative of my ability to write music and play guitar. There are many days where words are not enough, and music has to come in and do the talking. I’ve always been indebted to my rich musical upbringing since I was a kid because it has taught me so much over time. Not only is it cathartic, but it can be so much fun sometimes. Some days I feel as though I’d be nothing without it.
Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

#crucialevenings

Archives

