Annoying Sinus Cold

4

October 7, 2014 by Roe

Out of nowhere I got sick.

Nothing major – Just a sinus cold.

But it’s bugging the hell out of me.

I hate being sick.

I even hated being sick when I was going to school.

Sometimes kids like being sick so they don’t have to go, but I never did. It would give me anxiety not to go because I know I’d miss so much.

It started off with post nasal drip in the morning that would go away after breakfast, but yesterday morning it didn’t go away. My throat felt like sandpaper.

So all day I was drinking tea, water, Emergen-C, taking Olive Leaf Extract by the tablespoonful, reheating chicken soup, taking Chloraseptic along with decongestants and Claritin.

Then around 5 or 6 o’clock my sinuses closed up, so I couldn’t breathe out of my nose – at all.

I don’t know if anyone else has this problem, but I can’t take pseudoephedrine-based decongestants at night. They make me restless, increase my heart rate. I never have a good night’s sleep.

I’m blowing my nose again and again, using nasal saline wash, but nothing’s really working. As it came closer and closer to going to bed, I started having a near-hellbent anxiety attack because I couldn’t breathe. Then last minute, I decided to take a shower before I went to bed – and let me tell you, that made all the difference – Hot steam really works. Finish that off with another round of nasal wash, Vicks Vapor Rub, a Breathe Right strip, a prepped hot water bottle, and Vaseline for my tender red nose – I actually got a pretty good night’s sleep.

So I took another shower this morning as soon as I woke up.

My mom tells me these sinus issues run on her side of the family.ย Great, I thought. Another thing to look forward to.

I like to think these issues haven’t plagued me as often. But the last time this happened to me was this past late spring. And before that I think it was the winter. The timespan between those instances seemsย too close. I never used to get sinus colds like this.

My ears are popping and I still feel like I’m underwater a bit. And I just hope this goes away soon, mainly for my own comfort. I hate feeling like this.

4 thoughts on “Annoying Sinus Cold

  1. Sam says:

    I was/am the same — I didn’t want to skip school because of how much I would miss! Hope your cold goes away soon, it sounds like it’s progressing through the stages pretty rapidly!!

    Like

    • Roe says:

      I know! I’d freak out too much; My anxiety would outweigh whatever symptoms I had. Haha. (Also, I trusted no one to get detailed assignments to me)

      And thank you! I hope so too. It’s kind of been going through my fam and I’m the last person to get it. But I keep doing nasal washes and blowing my nose forever. Hehe ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully it will go away soon!

      Like

      • Sam says:

        exactly. glad to know i was not the only one who hated missing school! ๐Ÿ˜€ saline spray is helpful too. my postdoc and i both had colds here and she swears by oil of oregano — dunno if it worked but it’s very… oregano-y. my mom always had us drink echinacea and/or chamomile tea whenever we got sick too. you seem to have used a plethora of remedies already but just thought i would share ๐Ÿ˜›

        Like

      • Roe says:

        You know, I think my dad did mention oregano oil to me yesterday! Good to know! Thank you. I was also drinking a lot of Yogi Echinacea Immune Support Tea, and I think I can say with every passing day I’m feeling better and better ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for sharing!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

And then some days you wear your @thinkgeek Star Trek dress. ๐Ÿ––๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ’•

Archives

