Roe’s Best Albums of 2014: #4 – Die On Stage by Hostage Calm

Leave a comment

December 29, 2014 by Roe

Hello there, fellow RKB readers/enthusiasts! From the comfort of my hotel room in Jacksonville, FL,  I’m currently bumming on my dad’s laptop to bring you the rest of what I consider to be the greatest albums this year had to offer. I hope you’ve enjoyed the past 6 albums I’ve listed so far. Here’s #4:

Artist: Hostage Calm

Album: Die On Stage

Produced by: Will Yip

Released: September 16, 2014

Hostage_Calm_Die_On_Stage“Devastated” would be an understatment to describe how I felt when Hostage Calm announced their inpromptu breakup a few months ago. I believe the jury’s still out as to why they did, especially in the middle of a tour and all…I suppose I’m still not over it. <sadface></sadface>

That aside, Die On Stage is one of the best albums you will listen to this year. Fresh with recognizable licks and chord progressions clearly inspired by The Beatles and The Smiths, along with many others I’m sure. Will Yip is in the production seat (whose name you may recognize from Braid’s newest record I wrote about, No Coast). Chris “Cmar” Martin’s voice has considerably matured in this record (even finding his falsetto on “Fallen Angel”), harmonies are the tightest they’ve ever been, with gentle accompanying bells on almost every track (I’m a sucker for that sort of thing). The songwriting is also at another level entirely.

I was a huge fan of Please Remain Calm, later discovered HC’s self-titled (and Lens) and fell in love. I’ve seen HC a handful of times and always loved their live show, energetic and full of spirit; Two things which seem difficult to find at a show nowadays.

If this record doesn’t give you something (anything) to believe in, I’m not sure what will.

Listen to:

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

#crucialevenings

Archives

