Talking Freddie Gray Blues

Leave a comment

May 1, 2015 by Roe

I can’t get this song out of my head.

It’s beautifully written and constructed in classic Kevin Devine fashion, Elliott Smith influence ever so subtle.

I haven’t been very vocal about this because I feel as though no matter what I say, I cannot change the situation or the larger problems surrounding it; Only shoot hypotheticals and what-ifs and could-bes. But KD did such a wonderful job here. 99% of the words are things I wish I could say or construct into such a beautiful, succinct statement.

I don’t watch the news as much anymore as I believe it is mainly a vehicle for entertainment and bias. But I see the headlines and tune in every once in awhile. Because I have the luxury of not becoming emotionally involved. I’m a white female living in the suburbs and I can just turn it off whenever I want.

This is not my reality / I’m afforded the luxury / Of shaking my head / I shut the screen, go to bed / I can turn off what you never can / And watch it happen again and again

Truth is, I feel so deeply for my black brothers and sisters. And days come and go where I wish I could take away all of their pain.

Truth is, as a nation, we’re nowhere where we need to be. And this won’t go away overnight. Change is necessary. Justice and Equality are necessary.

But with each passing day I just feel helpless and unsure. And I’m so sorry and I wish I could paint the world over.

The system’s broken / Not breaking / It’s done

Because how many more times must this happen, how many more young black lives must be lost before we wake up as a country and ignite the human compassion seemingly dormant within us all?

I hope not too long.

Leave a Reply

Sign up for the official Roe Knows Best mailing list -->

Instagram

And then some days you wear your @thinkgeek Star Trek dress. 🖖🏼💕

Archives

